The Four Noble Truths

There are Four Noble Truths, the Truth of Suffering, the Truth of Arising, the Truth of Cessation, and the Truth of the Path. The following BBC video explains more about life’s big questions. Is our suffering coming from our own ignorance and greed? Buddha thought that was so, but he also offered a pathway out into enlightenment. Listen to Stephen Fry explaining more about the Four Noble Truths in Buddhism:

The Truth of Suffering (Dukkha)

As a synonym for the bond of earthly existence and not being freed from the chain of rebirth. Well, old age is suffering, sickness is suffering, death is suffering, but birth is suffering as well. Any association with unpleasant things ir times is suffering, and disassociation from unpleasant times or things is also suffering. Despair, pain, sorrow, grief, and lamentation are also suffering. Not to be able to get what you want is suffering. These are, in short, the five elements of individual suffering.

The Truth of Arising / Origin of Suffering (Samudaya)

First, it is the craving (tanha), or thirst, that gives rise to rebirth. This is associated with passionate delight. It seeks fresh and new pleasure here and now in the form of (1) thirst for existence, (2) thirst for sensual pleasure, (3) thirst for no-existence. Additionally ignorance (lack of knowledge), aversion, seeking to possess. See also this post: Mandara Worlds

The Truth of Cessation / Elimination of Suffering (Nirodha)

This truth relates to the cessation of craving (tanha), being withdrawn from it, the liberation from it, the rejection of it, not being attached to it. Thus, the loss of “things” substituted for “oneness” and/or enlightenment (peace).

4. The Truth of the Path / The Dharma Path / The Eightfold Path

a. The Right Understanding
b. The Right Resolve / Attitude of Mind
c. The Right Speech
d. The Right Action
e. The Right Livelihood / Conduct
f. The Right Effort
g. The Right Mindfulness / Attention
h. The Right Meditation